21st ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles


Call for Papers

October 14-17, 2007
Skamania Lodge
Stevenson, WA

General chair Thomas C. Bressoud, Denison University
  bressoud@denison.edu, (740) 587-5630
Program chair M. Frans Kaashoek, MIT
Sponsored by ACM SIGOPS

Authors are invited to submit papers to the 21st SOSP reporting on original research related to the design, implementation, analysis, evaluation, and deployment of operating systems. We seek submissions of high quality that significantly further the knowledge and understanding of the systems community. In keeping with SOSP tradition, we will favor work that explores new territory, continues a significant research dialog, or reflects on experience with practical applications of the community's knowledge. Papers of particular merit will be forwarded to ACM Transactions on Computer Systems for possible publication in a special issue.

The symposium attracts attendees with diverse backgrounds. We solicit papers in the traditional core of the operating system field, as well as in the interfaces to areas such as computer architecture, networking, programming languages, and databases. Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

Robustness of complex systems Mobile computing
Scalability and performance Fault tolerant computing
Security Power management
Storage systems Sensor networks
I/O architectures Web services
Overlay networks Empirical studies
Virtualization System management

A good paper will demonstrate that the authors:

* are attacking a significant problem,
* have devised an interesting, compelling solution,
* have demonstrated the practicality and benefits of the solution,
* have drawn appropriate conclusions,
* have clearly described what they have done, and
* have clearly articulated the advances beyond previous work.

Submissions will be judged on originality, significance, interest, clarity, relevance, and correctness. In addition to citing relevant, published work, authors should relate their SOSP submissions to relevant submissions of their own that are simultaneously under review for this or other venues. The SOSP PC reserves the right to ask authors to provide copies of related simultaneously-submitted papers.

Submissions will be done electronically. Detailed instructions for the submission process can be found on the conference Web site. Submitted papers must be no longer than fourteen (14) 8.5"x11" or A4 pages in a typeface no smaller than 10 point. The page limit includes everything: references, title page, figures, appendices, etc. Authors must make a good faith effort to anonymize their submissions, and not identify themselves either explicitly or by implication (e.g., through the references or acknowledgments). Submissions violating the detailed formatting and anonymization rules on the Web site will not be considered for publication. There will be no extensions for reformatting.

Blind reviewing of full papers will be done by the program committee, with limited use of outside referees. Papers will be provisionally accepted subject to revision and approval by a program committee member acting as a shepherd. On acceptance, authors will be required to sign an ACM copyright release form. Your submission indicates that you agree to this. Papers will be held in full confidence during the reviewing process, but papers accompanied by nondisclosure agreement forms are not acceptable and will be rejected without review. Authors of accepted papers will be expected to supply electronic versions of their papers and encouraged to supply source code and raw data to help others replicate and better understand their results.

There will be a scholarship program to support student registration and attendance. Details will be posted on the Web site.

Important Dates

Deadline to register abstracts March 12, 2007 11:59:00 PM EDT
Submission deadline (HARD, NO EXTENSIONS) March 19, 2007 11:59:00 PM EDT
Acceptance notification June 18, 2007 (tentative)
Camera-ready deadline August 9, 2007 (HARD, NO EXTENSIONS)

Program Committee

Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, U. Wisconsin Andrew Myers, Cornell
Paul Barham, Microsoft Research Jeff Mogul, HP Labs
Peter Chen, U. Michigan Vivek Pai, Princeton
Mike Dahlin, U. Texas Adrian Perrig, CMU
Jeff Dean, Google Sharon Perl, Google
Richard Draves, Microsoft Research Sylvia Ratnasamy, Intel
Peter Druschel, MPI-SWS Mendel Rosenblum, Stanford
Carla Ellis, Duke Mema Roussopoulos, Harvard
Hermann Haertig, TU Dresden Stefan Savage, UC San Diego
M. Frans Kaashoek, MIT Michael Schroeder, Microsoft Research
Orran Krieger, IBM Ion Stoica, UC Berkeley
Hank Levy, U. Washington Yuanyuan Zhou, U. Illinois
David Mazieres, Stanford WeiMin Zheng, Tsinghua U.

Conference Organizers

General Chair: Thomas C. Bressoud, Denison University
Local Arrangements: Jonathan Walpole, Portland State University
Sponsorships: Jacob R. Lorch, Microsoft Research
Publicity: Jason Flinn, University of Michigan
Scholarship committee: Robbert van Renesse and Hakim Weatherspoon, Cornell
Registration Chair: Michael Kozuch, Intel
Shadow PC Chair: Rebecca Isaacs, Microsoft Research, Cambridge
HotCRP Chair: Eddie Kohler, UCLA
Poster Session Chair: Mema Roussopoulos, Harvard
Works in Progress Session Chair: David Mazieres, Stanford
Women's Workshop: Carla Ellis, Duke; Sharon Perl, Google; and Barbara Liskov, MIT

Click here for a text or PDF version of the call for papers.